Time to Revive the Human Relations Commission

The Colorado Springs City Council will vote Tuesday June 8, 2010 on whether to reinstate the Human Relations Commission.

The City Council needs to hear that you support the HRC:

  • Write or call your Council Members asking them to support the HRC.

See contact info below.

  • Attend the City Council meeting Tuesday June 8 at 1:00 pm.

City Hall, 107 N. Nevada Ave., Suite 325, Colorado Springs

  • Send this call to action to all your friends and family, post on Facebook & Twitter

Please write or call your council members and urge them to support the HRC!

  • These at-large council members represent the whole city:

Mayor Lionel Rivera lrivera@springsgov.com 719-385-5986

Vice Mayor Larry Small LSmall@springsgov.com 719-385-5986

Tom Gallagher At-Large TGallagher@springsgov.com 719-385-5491

Randy Purvis At-Large RPurvis@springsgov.com 719-578-9800

Jan Martin At-Large JMartin@springsgov.com 719-385-5486

Scott Hente, District 1 SHente@springsgov.com 719-385-5487

Darryl Glenn District 2 DGlenn@springsgov.com 719-385-5493

Sean Paige District 3 SPaige@springsgov.com 719-385-5470

Bernie Herpin Jr. District 4 BHerpin@springsgov.com 719-385-5492

What is the Human Relations Commission?

  • Most cities have a Human Relations Commission (HRC) to mediate disputes, help businesses, individuals and agencies resolve issues involving discrimination, and provide city government a greater understanding of how policies and funding affect less vocal minorities. Our city’s HRC was disbanded in the 1990s and it’s time to bring it back.
  • The HRC is an all-volunteer committee of nine residents, appointed by the City Council, who have diverse backgrounds and skills in mediation, cultural competency, community leadership, and human services.
  • The HRC requires no funding, does not have regulatory power, and will operate like most other city boards and commissions.

How will the Human Relations Commission benefit our community?

  • The HRC will hear grievances from any resident or business involving discrimination, and will use mediation and reconciliation to resolve disputes without litigation. Unresolved conflicts may be referred to the Colorado Civil Rights Division.
  • The HRC will conduct informed advocacy, and educate the business community, nonprofits and the public sector on how to avoid illegal discrimination and work constructively with employees, clients, customers and citizens with diverse backgrounds.
  • The HRC will be a resource for residents affected by the loss of services from recent budget cuts, connecting people with existing services or identifying new needs that nonprofit agencies could address.
  • The HRC will promote public-private partnerships to find solutions to community problems and will improve police-community relations by promoting constructive dialogue.

For more information email info@ColoradoSpringsHRC.org.


No Replies to "Time to Revive the Human Relations Commission"


    Got something to say?

    Some html is OK