Making Democracy Work Award

The League of Women Voters of the Pikes Peak Region invites you to join us in celebrating our seventh annual “Making Democracy Work” Award Reception.

Wednesday, February 13, 2013
5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

Stewart House
1228 Wood Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO
Wine, hors d-oeuvres, and Presentation of Award

Send a check for $25.00 per person payable to
P.O. Box 7888
Colorado Springs, CO 80933

Please respond by Friday, February 9, 2013
(719) 473-7083,

There are nine outstanding nominees (in alphabetical order):
Carmen Abeyta encourages diversity in perspective and in community.
Deborah Adams fosters a commitment to social justice.
Jane Ard-Smith advocates for democracy and quality of life.
Aimee Cox works to shape a government that values citizen engagement.
Mary Gowing engages students in inclusive and differentiated instruction for lifelong learning.
Rochelle Mason champions efforts to enhance education and access for youth.
Linda Mojer educates and informs women about the crucial role they play in the local economy.
Linda Weise Wells envisioned a successful student Conservatory arts program.
Denise Whinnen promotes coalitions to move equality and democracy forward.The League is pleased to cosponsor this award with The Colorado Springs Independent and supported by Veda Salons.

For a colored flyer invitation of the information above please click here.

Leave a Reply